October 14, 2016

New cardinals include three Americans, represent five continents, 14 nations

Criterion staff report

The 17 new cardinals Pope Francis announced at the conclusion of his Angelus address on Oct. 9 at the Vatican come from five continents and 14 nations, and include three American archbishops and archbishops from Mauritius and Bangladesh.

The new cardinals will be inducted into the College of Cardinals on Nov. 19, the eve of the close of the Holy Year of Mercy, at St. Peter’s Basilica at the Vatican. Thirteen of the new cardinals will be under 80 years old, and thus eligible to vote in a conclave.

The cardinal-designates are:

  • Archbishop Joseph W. Tobin of Indianapolis
  • Archbishop Blase J. Cupich of Chicago
  • Archbishop Kevin J. Farrell, prefect of the new Vatican office for laity, family and life, and former Bishop of Dallas
  • Archbishop Mario Zenari, Italy
  • Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Central African Republic
  • Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra, Spain
  • Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha, Brazil
  • Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario, Bangladesh
  • Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo, Venezuela
  • Archbishop Jozef De Kesel, Belgium
  • Archbishop Maurice Piat, Mauritius
  • Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes, Mexico
  • Archbishop John Ribat, Papua New Guinea
  • Archbishop Anthony Soter Fernandez, Archbishop Emeritus of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
  • Archbishop Renato Corti, Archbishop Emeritus of Novara Italy
  • Archbishop Sebastian Koto Khoarai, Bishop Emeritus of Mohale’s Hoek Lesotho
  • Father Ernest Simoni, priest of the Archdiocese of Shkodrë-Pult, Albania.


See more news about Cardinal-designate Joseph W. Tobin here

Local site Links: